Week 2 – MTC – Sister Pope

Jessica’s latest update from the MTC
Hello my lovely friends and family!
I made it through my first week, and when I look back on my journal entries I have to laugh because most of them say the same thing– “I’m exhausted!” Seriously, those first few days were so rough! It’s crazy because it’s only been a few days and it feels like we’ve been here for years. I was told that people go crazy in the MTC, and I can attest to that. Our teacher was telling us that Koreans don’t understand sarcasm, so if they asked me if I was American and I said, “No. I’m Chinese.” they would be like, “Oh really? What part of China?” But he then gave an example of a Korean joke, which went “What did the bus driver say to the egg? Geedon”. You might have to say that out loud to get it, but you’ll realize that that isn’t that funny. However, our entire district just laughed and laughed and laughed until some of us cried, and our teacher looked at us like we were crazy. We lost it a little bit this week, but it was great.
MTC_entrance
I can now add my testimony to that of countless missionaries before me that the first few days are tough, but I can also add my testimony that it does get better and that wonderful things happen in the MTC. We have taught five times so far, all in Korean. We asked our “investigator” if he would prepare to be baptized, and he said “Neh!” (yes) We were so excited! It was a really happy day, and then he asked us a question. I knew he was asking about baptism, so I started to answer how baptism worked. It wasn’t until after we had left that I fully understood his question and I realized I had misunderstood. He didn’t ask “How does baptism work?” He asked “How do I prepare to be baptized?” Aneeyo!! (No!!) We just started laughing and we quickly made a lesson plan for the next time to explain, and we taught it the next day. I can see the gift of tounges working more and more. We don’t understand a lot of Korean, but from one word we seem to understand the whole sentence and can answer the question. It is truly a miracle, and I am grateful that the Lord is helping us as we struggle to learn this difficult language.
I love the MTC, even though it is hard. Again, I add my testimony to that of countless others that this is the hardest thing I have ever done, but I also testify that it is worth it. I have grown so much from my first week, and I know that the Lord is blessing me and all of the missionaries here. I am so grateful to be a part of this great work!
We received a new district this week of native Koreans. They are so cute! They are also intimidating because we don’t know Korean and we’re almost afraid to talk to them. They’ll be here for two weeks before going back to Korea. We now have 11 districts in our branch, and all of our branch speaks Korean. Most of them are going to Korea as well. Last week we broke the record for number of missionaries coming in with 700, but this week broke that record with 940 missionaries!!! There are so many here. It’s awesome and crowded a bit, but we love it. From what I understand, Wyview is mainly for English speaking missionaries.
Okay, so here’s why you need to save the date. We went to choir practice on Sunday and they told us that we were going to be a part of something awesome. On June 23rd there is going to be a worldwide broadcast by the church, and we have the opportunity to be a part of the choir for it! We will be able to sing at the Marriot Center for the first presidency and the twelve apostles!!! We are so excited that we get to be here for this once-in-a-lifetime opportunity! Make sure you watch it because you might see me and my district, because most of us are going to be a part of this wonderful event. It’s going to be so awesome!!!!! I’ll be the one in the nametag!
All my love and prayers,
Pope Jama
Leave a Reply

