Week 8 – MTC – Sister Jessica Pope

Korea Seoul Mission

Korea Seoul Mission

Hello my wonderful family and friends!

So I didn’t quite make it out of the MTC completely unscathed. I caught a cold this week, but I am almost fully recovered! All is well, and the work of the Lord goes onward! This coming week is our ninth week in the MTC! We got our Travel Plans today!!!!!! It’s so exciting! We thought we were never going to leave, and here we are! This is going to be a really long plane trip, especially since we’re flying to Texas and then directly to Korea. Oh well! It will give me time to sleep and practice proselyting in Korean. 🙂 We’re so ready to leave the MTC, but at the same time we hardly know Korean. I’m so excited and so nervous at the same time. I know that the Lord will help us in whatever we need to do, and I’m grateful for his hand because I know without a doubt that I could not do this without him. We all know it is about time for us to leave the MTC because we all feel like there is not much else that the MTC can teach us. We have been taught many great and important lessons and skills, but the greatest knowledge comes from doing. We need to go out and do what we have been taught, and by so doing learn more than ever before. This is what the Lord expects from us. He has given us our talents, and now it is up to us to make them more.

So I think it is time to share my advice to the new missionaries who are coming to the MTC soon. First of all, do not be scared. The Lord is with you, and he loves you so very much. He will not let you fail when you are doing his work, and this goes for everyone, not just missionaries. When you are serving God, you will always come out stronger than ever before. Second, when it says it’s time to study, STUDY. That is the secret. It is always super tempting to have fun with your district, especially because you love them so much, but there is a time and a place for that. This is the time to be focused on the Lord. This is his time, and not your time. Make the most of it. And Third, if you are going foreign speaking, SYL!! SYL stands for Speak Your Language, and you’ll hear it a lot at the MTC. It will help you so much if you speak your language often. Do your best, and the Lord will give you more. I know you can do it! Stay strong, stay faithful, and the language will come. Slowly, but surely, it will come, I promise you.

This week I spent some time thinking about the song “Nearer, My God, To Thee.” I love this song. I was especially thinking of the first line “Nearer, my God, to thee; Nearer to thee. E’en though it be a cross that raiseth me.” This to me teaches that trials are there to help us. God loves us so very much, and he knows exactly who we are and who we can become. He sends us trials, not because he wants to bring us down, but because he wants to raise us up. Think about it! Every trial we have ever had has taught us important lessons that has shaped who we are. We stretch and grow with each trial we overcome! This is Heavenly Father shaping us into the child of God that he knows we can be. Remember, good movies have an inciting incident that allows the main character to develop and grow. We love the characters that triumph over their struggles! One of my favorite movies says this perfectly: “The flower that blooms in adversity is the greatest and most beautiful of all.” This is so true about our lives too. We develop and grow when we choose to push forward and rely on the Lord, even when it may seem like the world is pressing itself upon you. We are beautiful to the Lord. He loves us and cares about us so very much! We are his children, and he is our Father. He wants to help us, so why not let him? I encourage you to pray to our Father in Heaven and ask him what he thinks about you. You can read Luke 4 and Abraham 3 and ask Him if those verses have anything to do with you as well. I promise if you pray with faith that Heavenly Father will answer you it will come. I know this to be true with all my heart, and I say this in the name of Jesus Christ, Amen.

Again, I love you all. You are amazing! Thank you for all your love and support because it keeps me going. May the Lord bless you and keep you!

All my love,

Jess

P.S. I want to say a quick “thank you” to Aunt Diane and Edmundo! Thank you for the card! It was beautiful! ❤

Leave a Reply

