Week 9 – MTC – Sister Jessica Pope (LAST MTC POST)

안양하내요, 가적! 사랑해요!

Okay, so this is the last message I will be sending from the United States! Ahh! I’m so excited to be leaving, but I’m nervous about leaving because I still do not know the language all that well. They say that everything will sound like Star Wars language for a while, and then  I will start picking it up. Oh my goodness! This is actually happening! There IS more to a mission than just the MTC!! ㅅㅅ (Korean Smiley face) Its going to be so hard to break up our district because half of them are going to a different mission and our teacher are staying here, but we are at the point where the MTC really cannot teach us that much more. We have to make that leap and start teaching. Yesterday during in-field orientation (which was absolutely fantastic, by the way) I kept wanting to speak Korean to the English speakers as we practiced teaching. It was almost weird to teach in English! I am going to take that as a good sign that everything will be okay. It is okay to know nothing right now because I’ll be a “wanderer in a strange land”, to quote Ammon from the scriptures. Heavenly Father is on our side, so we will go forward with faith!

The Salt Lake Tribune published this picture that happened to have Jessica in the background.

The Salt Lake Tribune published this picture that happened to have Jessica in the background.

Monday was pretty special because my companion and I were able to be the special musical number for the Senior Missionary Welcome. They are so sweet! We sang “Come Thou Fount” and Sis. Segovia from our district was our accompanist, and Sis. Bussio (her companion) was our official audience and stage mom. The senior missionaries have such a sweet spirit and we immediately loved them all. When we sang, there were several tears shed, and my favorite was one sister who was mouthing the words and crying at the same time. It was a wonderful experience to be able to share our testimonies through music with the senior missionaries. I know that they appreciated us, and we were happy to be with them. Sis. Jackson and I officially have done everything that the MTC has to offer us, so that is another sign that it is time to move on to bigger and better things.

I have learned so much at the MTC, and I love the strong spirit that is here. It is very intense and stressful to be sure, and I am grateful that I will be able to listen to music again (Yay MoTab!). The MTC is a wonderful place, but I am glad to be leaving. I want you to know that I have a strong testimony that this is the true church, and that with God we can do all things. I know that the Lord loves us and will comfort us when we are in need. I know that we are to do a great work in this life, and I look forward to being an instrument in the Lord’s hands in Korea. Remember that misssionaries need the members help in the work, and remember the blessings of catching the wave. Do all you can to help the missionaries. They need your help!

Thank you for all you do! You are amazing! I love you all so much, and the Lord loves you too!

All my love and prayers,

포프 재시가 자매

Sister Jessica Pope

Editor Comment:

Please start sending all correspondence to:

Seoul Korea: Letters:

Sister Jessica Pope
Korea Soul Mission
Gwanghwamun PO Box 210,
Jongno-gu
Seoul-si 110-602
South Korea

Packages

Sister Jessica Pope
Korea Seoul Mission
Samcheong-no 9 gil 45
Jongno-gu
Seoul-si 110-230
South Korea

 

Leave a Reply

