Week 2 – Shin Chone Area

Hello from across the ocean! 今今

So I’m a new missionary, so I’m allowed to make mistakes. The temple is in our area, but the mission home is not. Sorry about that! Moving on…

This week had its challenges, but I’m pretty sure that is every week. The biggest challenge for me at this point is just trying to learn Korean. As I’ve said, I normally have no idea what’s going on and it is frustrating when I want so badly to understand and not just be a pretty face. The good news is that I think the jet lag is beginning to wear off and I am getting a little better at listening! One of our zone leaders shared a story in our zone meeting about when I attempted to teach during English class. He said that I didn’t use fancy Korean (because I can’t use fancy Korean) but I spoke from the heart and invited the Spirit into the room. It made me feel better that he said that and it gave me a little more confidence to keep trying. I am really hoping things will start getting a little easier now.

DSCF1064

Other good news is that we got two new investigators this week! We are so excited to teach them and invite them to come unto Christ. Sometimes its hard when we are out doing 瞪紫 (Jun-doh), which is street contacting, and they completely ignore us. One time a woman actually ran away from us when we tried to talk to her! Are we really that scary? 今今 One rule that is specific to the missions in Korea is that only sisters 瞪紫 to women and only elders 瞪紫 to men. This is mostly cultural, I think, but we follow the rules that have been set down. Hopefully we can touch some hearts while we are here.

As for the food, IT. IS. SO. GOOD!!!!! Yeah, it’s a bit spicy, but it is delicious! I think my favorite dish so far is 鎗殼 (Jim dalk -soft k) It kind of reminds me of a spicy stew. It has a lot of vegetables like potatoes, onions, and carrots and it has chicken in it. I think my favorite part is the clear noodles. Mmmm!! One interesting characteristic of Korean meals is that instead of everyone having their own plate, they make a ginormous dish with several side dishes with it and everyone eats from the same plate. I have been complemented on my chopstick ability, so I tell everyone that I learned from my aunt who served in Japan. 今今 Ah! Just writing about it makes me hungry.

DSCF1061

Funny story: this week we went to a Primary activity and there was a firefighter who was teaching CPR. Of course, I couldn’t really understand what he was saying but I followed along as best I could. He had a dummy to practice on, and who do you think they asked to demonstrate CPR? That’s right! The foreigner who can’t speak! 今今 I’m grateful for our other zone leader who helped me out. *sigh* Barely more than a week here and I’m already kissing a dummy. I hope I don’t have to talk to the mission president about this. 😉

DSC08767

 

I am so grateful for the Lord’s hand in this work. It is not easy, but I know that the Lord will help me learn Korean and the culture. I have felt the Spirit testify of truth pretty much every day that I’ve been here, and I am grateful for the opportunity that I have to study the word of God every single day. Thank you for your love and support. I can feel your prayers for me. Thanks so much! I love you all! Remember, the church is true!

All my love,

濠衙 (Sister Pope)

DSCF1062

Leave a Reply

