Korean Thanksgiving – Week 7

Dearest family and friends,

Happy 주석 week! ^^ That is Korean Thanksgiving, and it’s will be on the 19th. The Korean missionaries get to call home that day, but the foreign missionaries will have to wait for Christmas. It’s okay though. It will be fun to celebrate anyway. ^^ We will have mission conference on that day, so it’s going to be an exciting week!

So this week we were able to visit our investigator who has been in the hospital nearly every day. She is in the hospital that is right next to the other ward in our district, so she was able to witness a baptism on Saturday!!! ^^ I was praying so hard that she would feel something, and she told me that she “felt her heart spark” that day. Ah!! The Spirit is so awesome!! She also was able to receive a blessing of the sick yesterday. The Lord has been preparing her for the gospel! She won’t be in the hospital much longer, and that means that we won’t be able to teach her soon. *sigh* We know that the new missionaries will love her just as much as we do, and we know that the gospel will bless her life more than she can even imagine. Missionaries plant seeds all the time and sometimes they don’t get to see the fruit of that seed. I pray for her and I hope that she will know that the seed is good.

We also were able to get a new investigator who doesn’t speak Korean that well. We teach her in English, and that means that I am to lead the conversation. It’s different being so involved in the lesson because most of the time I have no idea what is going on and am just praying to recognize when I should bear testimony. When we teach this sister I can speak about everything, and It’s a good reminder that I AM able to teach the gospel. I can do it in Korean, but most of the time it’s all I can do to get out three or so sentences and I get frustrated because I still can’t understand. Teaching in English reminded me of what can happen when I am able to speak the language and it gave me more hope. I have faith that I can learn this language, and I know that the Lord will help me if I continue to try. On Tuesday we went to the temple and I was reminded of a very important lesson: I am not perfect, but Jesus Christ is. He who created the heaven and the earth created this language, and he knows how much I am trying to learn it and where I’m at. Mistakes are part of the plan, but so are miracles. I am looking for the miracles each day, and I have seen them.

I was asked to teach English class twice this week because the elders in our ward were elsewhere doing missionary things. Those who come think I’m hilarious when I teach. That, or I’m crazy. I can’t tell anymore. ^^ At least they enjoy themselves, and I enjoy teaching English. We teach mostly conversational English, so if anyone has any ideas for topics, like “Pet Peeves”, “Holidays”, “Jokes”, etc. please let me know because I’d like to use them. Thanks!

Thank you for your prayers and faith. Truly they are a blessing to me. I love you all so much! 사랑해요!!!

All my love,

Sister Jessica Pope

WriteMe

P.S. Please send me your best and worst jokes, especially Knock Knock jokes. They are all new to the Koreans. 😛

 

“To bring the world His Truth”

Leave a Reply

