Week 9 – 2nd Transfer already?!

Dearest Family and friends,

Well we’re officially at the end of my first transfer. I think that means I’m gonna make it. ^^ No surprise, Sis. Jeong and I are staying in 신촌 (Shin-chone) for another transfer because I’m not quite done with training. It’s hard to believe I’ve been here for nine weeks now. O.o After we got our call, the zone leaders called us and I answered the phone. They mistook me for my companion and said I sounded really Korean!!!!! ^^ Yay! I can tell my Korean is getting better, though I’m still far from being proficient. I realized that I have been having conversations with people in Korean. O.o How crazy is that? And Sis. Jeong was really surprised that when I was calling potential investigators these past few days I got a return appointment each day. I was too, actually. Heavenly Father has blessed us so much, and I’m so grateful for his help because it’s only because of him that I can speak at all.

In other news, this transfer means that a new zone will be created, and the missionaries in our ward (namely, us, the zone leaders, and another set of elders) will become our own district. One of our zone leaders is leaving ㅠㅠ  and another one will come in, and combined they will train a new missionary. One of our other elders will be district leader. There will be five elders in that house now. I’m glad I’m not allowed in there. 😉

So next week is Confrence! I’m a little sad because of the time difference that Conference will end on Monday Evening for us. That means that we will watch it a week later. *sigh* At least we get to see it! I’m super excited! ^^

As for my birthday wishes, it’s starting to get colder out her e so I would really like some warmer clothes, especially sweaters. I can buy them here, but Koreans are really small and I haven’t found my size yet. Also, Deodorant 없어요 (doesn’t exist), the same with American toothpaste. And most of all I miss American food. ㅠㅠ Physical pictures from home would be nice, and anything else you think a foreign missionary might need. ^^

Always remember that Heavenly Father loves you! You are his child, and his way is the best way. I was reading D&C 122:17, and it is so true. we should cheerfully do everything that lies in our power, and then we can see the Lord’s blessings. Happiness is a choice. You can choose to be happy, or you can choose to be depressed and give up. I am learning that more and more while I’m here, and I hope you remember that too.

I love you all! Thank you for your prayers and messages of love! I couldn’t do this without them.

All my love,

Sister Jessica Pope

May 2013
Leave a Reply

