Sinchon Week 2 – Every Member a Missionary

My dear family and friends,

Oh my goodness, what a wonderful week! We had Mission Conference, and two General Authorities spoke! ^^ Elder Whiting is new to the Quorum of the Seventy last year, and Elder Evans is the executive director of missionaries, or something like that. It was really special to hear from them because Elder Evans is so involved in missionary work! He talked a lot about what we needed to hear. I loved what he said about the Lord giving revelation line upon line in regards to Pres. Monson lowering the missionary age. It’s so awesome! Something like the missionary age being lowered –> shorter MTC stay –> New Mexico MTC –> Sister Training Leaders –> Worldwide Broadcast for member missionary work –> New Technology –> the new awesome changes that are going to happen over the next year! Oh. My. Goodness!!! Missionary work is becoming soooo much better! I’m so excited!!!!!!!!! ^^

DSCF5085

I have a challenge for you all though. At mission conference it was impressed upon me that we need members so much to help with this work. We need to think about what WE can do to help with missionary work because it’s not just the missionaries that do it. It’s a million times better to get a referral from a member than to have to find people on the street. I challenge you to take Elder Ballard’s challenge to heart, and I dare you to go up to your local missionaries and ask them what you can do to help them, even if it’s just being the member in a member present lesson. I promise they won’t turn you down, and the Lord will bless you for your willingness to serve him. We need members so so much! We can’t do this work without them. Please think of people you can invite to hear the missionaries, and ask the missionaries what you can do to help them. I promise that you will be blessed if you do this.

DSCF5045

Also, We had stake conference yesterday. First of all, we had a miracle that one of our investigators who we thought wouldn’t show up came! Woot! ^^ And it was a broadcast from Utah and Elder Cook and Elder Hales of the Quorum of the Twelve spoke. Oh. My. Goodness. I already knew that they are inspired, but this just increased my testimony so much because the entire meeting focused on the problems that Korea is facing. I’m sure they know a lot from the mission presidents, but they hit the nail on the head with this one. It was exactly perfect for a people they probably do not know much about! The church is so true!!! ^^

We’ve had a miracle of picking up a lot of new investigators this week, a lot of them Chinese. I love telling people about how much God loves them! It’s my favorite thing to tell people. I am really grateful for the opportunity to share the gospel with the people of Korea. I really love Korea and it’s people.

DSCF5118

Tomorrow we have the opportunity to help with a big service project. All the missionaries are going to help make Kimchi! Kimchi (if you don’t know) is pretty much the Korean national dish. They eat it with everything (and that is not an exaggeration.) Kimchi is fermented vegetables, usually cabbage, and it is delicious. I really like Kimchi, but it can be hard to take at first because it’s a bit spicy. It’s really good though! ^^ Tomorrow we’re going to help make it, and it will be an exciting adventure. Yay Kimchi! ^^

DSCF5106

I hope you all have a wonderful week! Remember to “ask the missionaries!” ^^

Love you lots!

Sister Jessica Pope

Leave a Reply

