Imun Week 6 – I Don’t Speak Chinese!

Hello everyone!

So transfer calls were this last week! Guess what? My companion isn’t Korean! ^^ She’s from Taiwan! ^^ You weren’t expecting that one, huh? Me neither. It was soooo surprising this time. So I live in a 6 sister apartment, but this last transfer there were only 4 sisters in it: Me and Sis. Kang and Sis. Goodwin and Sis. Dunn. It’s so nice to have more sisters in an apartment! It really helps with the stress. Anyway, Sis. Goodwin and Sis. Dunn are in 동대문 area, and we are in 이문. So it was really surprising when the AP’s called and told me that my new companion is Sis. Dunn! O.o She’s moving across the hall to be with me (but I want their room, so I’ll move over.^^). She’s from Taiwan, so she speaks Mandarin Chinese. She’s learning Korean AND English, so we will have fun this transfer. The cool thing is that there are TONS of Chinese people in our area, so we will likely have lots of Chinese investigators. Another elder in my district also speaks Chinese a little bit, and I speak NO Chinese, except for “Hello” and “Thank you”, so we will have tons of fun this transfer. I’m going to have to have her teach me how to say “I’m a missionary for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints. Here is our card!” in Chinese. 재미서요! O.o

In other news, we had Mission Conference this last week because of the Lunar New Year. We’re all a year older! Woot! ^^ Our focus this month was on using the Book of Mormon, and we had a lot of testimonies on sharing the Book of Mormon, especially when we talk to people on the Street. I shared my testimony as well because I’ve seen such an improvement in my own 전도 through using the Book of Mormon. I love the Book of Mormon so much! I know that it is true, and I love that I have the opportunity to share this book with the people in Korea. The Book of Mormon truly testifies of Jesus Christ, and when we read it we can know the truth of it for ourselves. President Packer warned us about the perilous times ahead last General Conference, and he said that we need to make scripture reading a priority. I encourage you to read or reread the Book of Mormon and ask Heavenly Father if it is true. I promise that Heavenly Father is mindful of us and he will answer your prayer. I know this is true, and I know that this book will bless your lives.

Next transfer is going to be so interesting! ^^ I hope you have a wonderful week! May God bless you and keep you always!

All my love,
Sister Jessica Pope

Leave a Reply

