Imun Week 7 – Chinese, Japanese, Korean, Oh My!

Dear Family,

This week doesn’t feel like a change happened, except that I have a new companion and suddenly we have more investigators. The cool part is that one of them is a Chinese man who will be baptised next week! We are so excited for him, and though I haven’t taught him much, I’m grateful I can be a part of his conversion in a little way. He seems so prepared! We usually teach the Chinese investigators with another elder in our district because he can speak fairly good Chinese, and his companion, who is a new missionary, can also speak a little Chinese. I am so out of the loop here. I can barely speak Korean.^^ Even so, I have still found ways to help with the lesson. Most of the Chinese investigators speak either enough English or Korean that I can at least share some things with them, and today Sister Dunn and I had a really good discussion about understanding the Plan of Salvation today, so hopefully I’ve begun to find out the role I will play in this companionship.

Another really cool thing that I get to help out with is that yesterday at Church we had the very first Chinese Gospel Principles class! Not many people were there (only one this time) but next week we will likely have more, and with all the recently baptised Chinese people and the people we are teaching now, we are on our way to achieving our goal of having a Chinese branch in 이문!^^ How cool is that!? I am so glad that Sister Dunn is serving here with us, and that I get to be her companion and help this get started! Heavenly Father has a work for us to do, to be sure. I’m excited and hopeful for this next transfer.^^

Last Sunday I learned that I actually know enough Korean to communicate (kind of) with people. Since I’ve always had a Korean with me, I never really needed to say much. But now I need to say a lot, so I think this will be good for me. We will have a fun time trying to figure out what is going on with our investigators and helping them to draw closer to Christ.^^ Last Sunday at Church we had Chinese gospel principles class, some talks in Sacrament meeting were in Japanese because of visiting members, the missionaries spoke in English and Korean. O.o That was FOUR languages at church. Ahhh…. My head hurt so much afterward, but it was fun.^^ The Lord is hastening his work! I’m so excited!

I love you all, and I hope that you have a wonderful week. May God bless you and keep you always!

All my love,

Sister Jessica Pope

Leave a Reply

