Imun – Week 8 Busy, Busy, Busy!

Dear Family and Friends,

Wow! What a week! I’ve never been so busy as a missionary. Sister Dunn and our elders sat down together one day and called a bunch of Chinese potential investigators. I think their ratio was maybe 1:3 return appointments to phone calls. O.o It’s so crazy and awesome! I’ve been doing my best to see how I can best help my companion because I don’t speak Chinese, but I did learn how to say “I know the Book of Mormon is true” in Chinese this week. That’s all I need, right? I’m good to go! ^^ Hopefully I’ll be able to pick up a little bit more so I can participate better in the lessons, but I need to learn Korean a lot too.

This week we’re also going to be working more to increase our English Class attendance. I made some signs to help promote it and our district went out by a University and started passing out fliers. I stood by the sign and helped answer questions that people had about our free class. We got several phone numbers and hopefully more people will start showing up to English Class! ^^ It’s a fun class actually. I enjoy teaching English class a lot.

I was studying in the New Testament in 1 Corinthians when I came across a chapter that kind of explains why we as missionaries need to work so hard to learn the language of the area we are serving.

For he that speaketh in an unknown tongue speaketh not unto men, but unto God: for no man understandeth him; howbeit in the spirit he speaketh mysteries… He that speaketh in an unknown tongue edifieth himself; but he that prophesieth edifieth the church. 1 Corinthians 14:2, 4

It’s wonderful if you can speak eloquently about the scriptures and can explain them to the fullest extent, but if you are sent to teach people in a different language and you don’t know that language, then many times people won’t understand you and your learning won’t be much good. If you learn the language and the scriptures as best you can and teach with the power of the Holy Ghost then you can edify the church and the people you are teaching. It just shows that we are assigned to learn languages for a reason, and even though it’s really hard, we need to learn the language that we are assigned to learn. It was a “Okay. I’ll work harder” moment for me. It’s really hard to learn a language, but I know from experience that Heavenly Father will help us if we trust in him, ” For it shall be given you in the very hour, yea, in the very moment, what ye shall say.” D&C 100:6 Sometimes that’s hard to remember, but I know it is true and I’ve seen it as I’ve struggled to learn the Korean language. God’s hand truly is in this work. I’m so grateful that I can be here.

All my love,
Sister Jessica Pope

Leave a Reply

