Imun Week 10 – The Joy of Serving

Dear Family and friends,

This week was so eventful! O.o We went to Costco for the first time (Yes, Costco does exist in Korea^^) and I decided it was time to become a Costco member. I got a card, and it makes me happy because you can see my nametag in the photo they took.^^ Mom has always told me that it’s stressful when you go to Costco, and I learned for myself that it is so true. It was super stressful because there is so much and so little time and Korea has the added bonus of being a multiple level Costco, so it was even more stressful. I got a lot of good stuff though, like a big ol’ bag of chicken that will last for a long time and some American cereal!!!!! ^^ I was happy with my purcheses, but my companion and roommates were not as thrilled. I think my favorite part of the evening was Sister Kim holding onto Sister Teng on the floor going “I. Hate. Costco!” ^^ I laughed sooo hard! We have the most fun house in the mission it seems.^^ Sister Kim is so funny! She lit the spaghetti on fire too, and once we put it out (no one was harmed, by the way) we just laughed and laughed and laughed! I’m going to be so sad when they move to a new house!

Don’t worry, just because our house is fun, we’ve been doing TONS of missionary work. We’ve been trying to go visit more members and help them strengthen their faith. I think our members are finally realizing that I can speak enough Korean to have a conversation with them now. Yesterday we went to a member’s house for a meal and I impressed them all with my Korean apple peeling skills.^^ I feel so incapable as a senior companion sometimes, but I can feel the strength of the Lord every day as I continually try my best to do what He would have me do. I still have tons of weaknesses, but somehow everything seems to be working out. I know that if I trust in God he will help me to do everything that He has planned for me.

I absolutely love being a missionary! I am so grateful for this experience, and even though it is hard, I know that I am growing in the direction that Heavenly Father wants me to be. I once heard that on a mission is the only time besides marriage in the temple that you’re absolutely sure that you’re doing what Heavenly Father wants you to be doing. It is so true! This is an experience that is priceless. I am so grateful that I can serve the Lord!

I love you all so much! Have a wonderful week, and remember that God made you special and he loves you very much!^^

All my love,
Sister Jessica Pope

Leave a Reply

