Gyomun Week 2 – Musical FHE Fun!

Dear Family and Friends,

What!? Another week went by already? How’d that happen??^^

This week was a little rough. We were given an assignment by the bishop to put together a Musical Family Home Evening for the Ward in a week, so you can imagine how much time that took up. I was the only one who could play the piano well enough, so I needed to learn and practice four songs, and because we also had exchanges with the Sister Training leader this week I really had only two days to do it in. O.o It was kind of frustrating because we had no time talk to people at all because of practicing, but we figured it was service, so we practiced. It was also pretty crazy because the day we came to practice we were surprised to find that people were in the process of knocking down a wall in the Cultural Hall where we were supposed to practice. O.o I don’t know about you, but it’s kinda hard to practice or teach a lesson when someone is jackhammering the wall next to you. Instead we practiced in the primary room, and anxiously waited for them to finish knocking down the wall and put dividers in, which they did a mere 30 minutes before everyone was supposed to arrive for Family Home Evening. Truly, it was miracle. O.o

To be honest, for the time we had it was a pretty good show. We sang “A Child’s Prayer” from the Children’s songbook in Korean (the easiest song^^), Sister Schillemat did a duet with a member and sang “Even When Your Broken”, an EFY song that I had never heard before, I played the piano for a piano/flute duet with Elder Kim of “I’ll Go Where You Want Me to Go/I’m Trying to Be Like Jesus”, and to finish up we sang “Come Unto Christ”, the 2014 Youth theme song that all the missionaries out here have come to love.^^ I was most concerned about the Piano/Flute duet, but it all turned out pretty well, even if it was a little rough. Elder Carpenter is a Youtube famous Par Kour star (Look up “Jeremy Carpenter” on Youtube), so he did some pretty cool flips and stuff for FHE too. They made a joke that I was continually playing everything and gave me some applause. I’m really just glad I could serve the ward and that it could turn out so well.

I’m really grateful for the opportunity to serve here. I love that I get to testify about our Savior Jesus Christ and how much he loves us every day. I kow that he is aware of us and our needs, and I know that he is just waiting for us to turn to him so that he can help us, even if you only have a week to put together a Spiritually-uplifting musical Family Home Evening.^^ I know that through Him all things are possible, and I’m so grateful to be one of his missionaries and share his love every day. I hope you have a wonderful Easter, and I hope you enjoy General Conference! May God bless you and keep you always! The Chruch is so true!

Love,

Sister Jessica Pope

Leave a Reply

