Gyomun Week 6 – A Pretty Full Week

Dear Family and Friends,

This week was super crazy! We had a lot of cool people come and speak to us! On Wednesday, we had Mission Tour with our Area Seventy, Elder Whiting! Our zone combined with another zone, and we had to ride a train out to the country where the cities are only the size of Salt Lake. Super fun! Elder Whiting is intense. I asked a question during his Q&A session, and he said He was going to say things that may be hard to hear. I won’t share all the details about the question I asked about our investigator, but he basically told me that we, as missionaries, could do …nothing. We had done everything we could do, and it really was up to the ward to help our investigator. We, as missionaries, come and go, but the ward can fellowship at a level that we will never reach. It was sad to hear that we can’t help our investigator, but we immediately went to our Ward Mission Leader and Ward Counsel for help. I hope and pray that our investigator will continue to progress, but it’s up to the ward now. Take this as a lesson; the ward is so important for missionary work! The first point in the Work of Salvation is MEMBER missionary work! That has been drilled into my head this week.

We also went to the ward picnic on Saturday, and it was super awesome because it started with everyone standing up and doing Jazzercise!^^ Most hilarious ward activity I have ever seen, and I am so sad that I didn’t get a picture or video. What made it more funny is that everyone was so serious when they did it (except the missionaries^^). We also played lots of soccer and golf and other games, and it was so fun and so good to see some of the ward get together for an activity. I hope that we were able to help them enough.

After the picnic we went to the baptism of a 92 year old man that the elders were teaching. The Spirit was so strong there, and I am so glad that I could see it. Age doesn’t matter! All are invited and welcome to come unto Christ!

After the baptism we were able to go to the Seoul South Mission to hear a special fireside with Sister Oscarson, the General Young Women’s President, and Sister Burton, the General Relief Society President. It was so good! I feel so blessed to have been able to hear them speak in Korea! We were all the way in the back, but it was so amazing! I was just reminded that my mission is changing my life, and I was thinking “What do I want my children to know about my mission?” This mission isn’t just for me, it’s for my future family too. I am so blessed to have been able to serve in Korea. I love Korea, and I love the people so much! I am going to be so sad to leave, so I have to pull out all the stops now and finish strong! 화이팅!

Also, that night we all got transfer calls! I’m going to be staying with Sister Schillemat for another transfer! Super awesome! We’re going to work hard this transfer and see more miracles!^^

I love you all! I hope you all have a wonderful week! May God bless you and keep you always!

Lots of love,

Sister Jessica Pope

DSCF8155 DSCF8133 DSCF8105

Leave a Reply

