Gyomun Week 20 – In A Tiny Random Shop in Korea…

Hi everyone!

This week was pretty crazy trying to get Sister Jung off and away, but now that Sister Tolley’s here we’re able to get back to normal (which is still kinda crazy) and keep going on with the work! Sister Tolley is from Utah and she’s a pretty amazing missionary. I’m really looking forward to working more with her! We’re going to be busy, I can just feel it.^^
One cool miracle that we saw this week was when we decided to go on a leap of faith and put “Follow the Spirit” as our plan for an hour. I got the idea from a friend who is a missionary, so we thought we’d try it. Not knowing what to expect, we went out to find who we could find. I felt like we should try to talk to a less-active member who lives by the church, but she wasn’t home. Then we went to the church, but there was nothing to do there. I was feeling a little discouraged, but I felt like we should try one more street. Sister Tolley started talking to a woman we saw who turned out to be the owner of a shop that we pass almost every day on the way to the church. She invited us into her shop to talk to her son (her son was learning English), so we told them about our Family English Program and our English class, and also about who we are and why we are serving. They seemed interested, and they told us to stop by every once in a while. I believe this was our miracle for the day, and it was so exciting to actually be led to someone like that! It was so cool!
Also, another cool thing about this miracle is that in this woman’s shop there was a framed 3D Greg Olson picture of Christ. It was 3D LDS art! I never thought I’d see that in a tiny random Korean shop. O.o That picture is now hanging inside our apartment.^^
I’m so grateful for the chance to serve the people of Korea! We’re going out to talk to people every day, and it’s hard, and sweaty, and we get lost so easily, but it’s so worth it! Why do we do it? Because I love them and I know that Heavenly Father loves them. That is why I am here. I only have so long, but all I do is out of love for them and for the Savior. There will be time to rest later! Now is the time to work! 화이팅! (Fighting! <– Go get ’em, Good luck, you can do it, etc.)
I love you all so much! May God bless you and keep you always! Thank you for your love and prayers!
Love,
Sister Jessica Pope
Leave a Reply

