Gyomun Week 28 – Temple Day!

Dearest Family and Friends,

This week we saw so many miracles! The biggest one was that we were able to go with Tae Hee, our Recent Convert, to the temple to do Baptisms for the Dead with her! She had done a lot of Family History work for it, and the members helped her and went with her and we were there to cheer her on! She did eight family names! She is so amazing and so prepared! I’m so grateful that I was blessed to be able to see her progress like this. She’s getting to the point where she doesn’t need us to help her along anymore because she knows enough and the ward is doing the rest. I feel so blessed to be able to know her!

Sister Tolley and I were so excited that we got to do baptisms for the dead too. We each ended up doing THIRTY names each! It was hard because the font is small and the brother doing the baptisms was short and I’m not, so I did my best to help him. I’ve never done so many names at one time because in Utah you do about five or ten, but out here it’s normal to do about thirty. It was so awesome!

AND because it was ward temple day the members asked us to stay and do a session with them. We called and got permission, so we had the chance to go to a temple session in Korean! It was a little hard, but it was a wonderful experience! I learn so much from the temple every time I get to go! The church is so true!!!

And yesterday we went with a member to visit some less-active members after church. We planned to visit one man and his family that no one knew and the address didn’t show up on our map or the member’s GPS, but we decided to try anyway. We drove an hour away, just praying that we would find this family, and we found the apartment AND they let us in! This less-active family was so nice and they still like the church. The two daugthers have not been baptised, and they told us that we could teach them the gospel before we could even ask! I think the father still knows it’s true. He just needs to be reminded about it. His parents are temple workers, and we met them in the temple when we went with our Recent Convert.

In other news, we were trying to visit a potential investigator and we were traveling by bus. I got up and told Sister Tolley we were getting off, but she didn’t make it off the bus! The bus started to drive away, and we just looked at each other as the doors closed. I started laughing so hard! I wasn’t too worried because I knew the next bus stop was only down the street and I saw the bus the entire time, but it was so funny! She kinda hung her head when we met up again and said it was so weird to be alone like that. I told her she better have enjoyed it because it’s not going to happen again until she goes home.^^ But she’s right. It was super weird to be alone like that, even for two minutes.

I feel so blessed! I’m so grateful to be a missionary and that we were able to go to the temple this week! Heavenly Father has blessed us with so much! This is the Lord’s work, and I am so grateful to be a part of it. I love you all so much! I pray for you always!

Love,
Sister Jessica Pope

PS:

I don’t have a picture with our Recent Convert, but this is us at the temple. So fun!

DSCF8812  DSCF8811

This is Henry. We see him every day as we go to the church, and we always say hi. The only problem is that after having watched him for several weeks, we’re thinking maybe Henry is a girl. O.o

DSCF8808

Leave a Reply

