Gyomun Week 31 – The Enabling Power of the Atonement

 

Dear Everyone and their dog,

What an amazing conference it was! I know I’m a week late, but that’s what happens when you live far away from Utah.^^ I loved all of it! As always, the questions that I had prayerfully asked about were answered during the talks. I felt like conference really was for me! Oh, how grateful I am for the words of the prophets!

I loved seeing Ashley and Lizzie during the Women’s Meeting! I practically jumped out of my seat with excitement to point them out to all of the sister missionaries that were with us.^^ They were beautiful, and Sister Christensen, our Mission President’s wife, wanted me to make sure to tell them that they did such a good job. Great job, Ash and Liz!^^

One of the things that I heard from almost every speaker was about the enabling power of the Atonement. The Atonement is there so that we could repent and feel the peace that comes from forsaking sin, but this conference focused so much on how the Atonement is also there so that we could overcome our weaknesses and become better than we were before. This was an answer to a prayer for me because I wanted to know how I could improve and become a more consecrated missionary with the time I had left. The answer is through relying on the Lord and applying the enabling power of the Atonement to overcome my weaknesses and do the work the way Heavenly Father would have me do it! The Atonement is more than just for sin, it is to help us reach our potential!

And speaking of doing the work the way Heavenly Father would have me do it, after the Saturday session of conference we had Transfer calls! Would you believe that for my very last transfer that I am going to a different area?? Well you better, because that’s what is happening!^^ I am going to Jungnang with Sister Kwon, a Korean sister! O.o It’s really funny because, if you recall, I was in Imun and then I came to Gymun, which is in the same stake. Well, Jungnang is right smack dab in the middle, touching both of my previous areas. All of my areas are in a line, except for Sinchon, which is where the temple is. I guess this makes it easier to find my areas when I come back to visit Korea later.^^

And I’m really going to need the enabling power of the Atonement this time because I have also been called to be a Sister Training Leader for our zone. For those of you who don’t know what that is, it’s pretty much the sister equivalent of a Zone Leader. I will, with my Sister Training Leader Companion Sister Kwon, be helping the sisters in our zone and conducting exchanges with them every once in a while for training purposes. It is humbling to receive this calling to serve these sisters and speak the words that Heavenly Father would have me speak because I know that this is His work and not mine. I hope and pray that I will be able to serve them as much as I can and that I can become a more consecrated missionary as I go. I am so excited for this opportunity!

I hope you all have had a wonderful week. I pray for you always! I LOVE BEING A MISSIONARY!!!!^^

Love you all,
Sister Jessica Pope

 

Leave a Reply

