Jungnang Week 1 – New Area and New Challenges

 

사랑하는 가족와 친구들,

This week went by way to fast! I feel like I just get up and suddenly it’s time to plan the next day already! ㅠㅠ

The new transfer started and It’s been interesting trying to get used to a new area again. I really like the ward! Our district grew this transfer, so now there is twelve missionaries in Jungnang, and five of them are new to the area. In sacrament meeting five missionaries spoke! I was the only sister, so they had me speak last. They told me they enjoyed my talk and that my pronounciation was good, so I guess it went okay!

I just find it so funny when people mispronounce my name in this ward. It was never this bad in my other areas, but here it’s a real struggle. When the Bishop said my name in the program on Sunday we had no idea what he said but it was kind of close to my name, I guess. There’s also a word in Korean that sounds like my name, so lately I’ve been Sister Fork, and they ask where Sister Knife is. I just show them my nametag so it’s fine, but I have to laugh about the ‘Sister Fork’ thing.

Jungnang ward has a choir and the missionaries help out with it. It is so nice to be able to sing in a choir again! I feel like it’s been so long, but it’s so fun. I love the special spirit that comes from singing the hymns! They are my favorite!

We also started planning for a Stake Musical Program that will be happening soon. We have been asked to prepare a song as missionaries and try to include our investigators or recent converts or with the youth or something, and I think it’s going to be really fun. We picked a fun song and our district is excited for it! It’s going to be awesome!

We’re still doing a lot of less active work and Sister Kwon and I have been talking about how we can best help the sisters in our zone. This next week we will conduct exchanges, so I am so grateful to learn how to be a better missionary from our wonderful

I love you all very much! I hope you all have a wonderful week! Don’t forget to pray and read your scriptures because that is where you can find strength! I love the Book of Mormon so much!^^

Love you all!
Sister Jessica Pope

 

Leave a Reply

